Configuring the Framework can either be done directly against the relevant tables or by using the provided stored procedures. Using the stored procedures is the reccommended approach as they automatically manage and validate entries to the master tables -including referential integrity - and report any errors in your configuration.

Framework version v1:

Approach 1: Using Stored Procedures

Using Stored Procedures is advised as creating runs and tasks by this method validates your input and also provides return messages that allow you to diagnose any errors in your entries.

Step 1: Create Extract Limits

Extract Limits need to be created directly in the table dbo.Extract_Limits. Do this by entering a type in Extract_Limit_Type, such as DateTime, String, Integer - as at the current release the Extract Limit Type is not subject to any checks or validation, and there is no specific functionality to decode these in the template packages. The Extract Limit Start and End range is entered in the corresponding fields Extract_Limit_Start & Extract_Limit_End. Any non-functional information can be entered in the Notes field.

The Extract_Limit_Id field is an auto-generated value which is used subsequently when you want to use the Extract Limit you created.

Step 2: Configuring Runs

Runs are configured by calling the Stored Procedure dbo.usp_Create_Run. This accepts the following parameters:

Parameter Name Input Accepted
Run Name run_name Name of the Run to create
Extract Limit Id extract_limit_id The Extract Limit Id to be applied to the run
Recovery Mode recovery_mode The Recovery Mode to apply
Return Message return_message The return message from the run creation


Notes:
  • If Extract Limit Id is left null it will default to 0
  • For Recovery Mode either the single character short code or the full name as in the table dbo.Framework_Codes under the category "Run Recovery Mode". If left null it will default to Recover

An example call to the Stored procedure is below:

EXECUTE	[dbo].[usp_Create_Run] 
		'Test Group G2' /* @run_name */
,		0 /* @extract_limit_id */
,		NULL /* @recovery_mode */
,		@Return_Message OUTPUT 


And this call generates this output:

Information: Run Recovery Mode not provided, set to default of "R" for "Recover"
Success: Run Test Group G2 created, with id 2


Step 3: Configuring Tasks

Tasks are configured by calling the Stored Procedure dbo.usp_Create_Task. This accepts the following parameters:

Parameter Name Input Accepted
Run Name run_name Name or Id of Run task will be in
Package Path package_path File Path of package to use in task
Package Name package_name Name of Package to use in task
Execution Order execution_order Execution sequence number of task
Precedent Task precendent_task Task Id of any precedent task
Failure Action failure_action Action to take if package fails
Recovery Mode recovery_mode Recovery Mode to apply
Extract Limit Id extract_limit_id The Extract Limit Id to be applied to the Task
Task Active task_active Active Flag
Return Message return_message The return message from the task creation


Approach 2: Directly updating tables

Step 1: Create Extract Limits

Step 2: Create Package Master

Step 3: Create Run

Step 4: Create Tasks


Last edited Sep 30, 2010 at 10:29 AM by BI_Monkey, version 12

Comments

No comments yet.